Skyline De Uithof

De Uithof, history of a university campus, early 1960s


1960 The masterplan drawn by J.A.C. van der Steur is approved and it contained the leading developmental guidelines for De Uithof until 1967. This masterplan held strong functionalist elements. A strictly orthogonal grid of roads, orientated from north to south and from east to west, provided a number of square building lots. Each of those was supposed to provide space for one or more faculties. Veterinary Science was directed towards the south east, Science Faculty towards the north west, the Medical Faculties towards the south west and the Humanities and Social Sciences in the centre.
There is no relation between the masterplan and the underlying landscape, except for one diagonal axis, part of the present 'Oxfordpad' which is oriented towards the tower of the Dom Cathedral in the centre of the city and was meant to symbolize the relation between university and city.
1961 The first building contracts were commissioned. The architect Sjoerd Wouda designed 'Transitorium 1' (at present known as the 'Ruppertbuilding') for the university and also the 'Hubrechtlaboratory' for the Dutch Royal Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW). Wouda also designed the typical power stations , small jewels of creative architecture.
1962 On May 11th 1962 the legal documents were signed to transfer the land to the university. The borders of 'De Uithof' were established formally.
masterplan Van der Steur 1961 power station by Sjoerd Wouda


These digitalia are best viewed in Century Gothic.
start | 1950s | early 1960s | late 1960s |early 1970s |
late 1970s |1980s | 1990s | 2000 and after